Access Hotmail From Within Gmail

14 03 2009
Host Intruder Copyright
//Hooray … Hotmail POP3 is available (free at last) to all users. Now I no longer have to suffer their horrible webmail service and their ugly interface with loads of advertising. Yeah, I can finally pull out Hotmail into my Gmail account. I bet a lot of you are doing the same thing too!! For those of you (like me) that used their Hotmail account as a garbage collection(spam, chain mail, random registration, etc.), you can set up a few filters and a few labels to manage all the mail that comes from Hotmail. 😀

Tip
: You can use TemporaryInbox as a temporary mail for registration purposes. Btw, don’t forget that you could also access Hotmail on your web-enabled mobile phone from mobile.live.com. 
                  

Hotmail POP3 Settings:

POP server: pop3.live.com (Port 995)   
POP SSL required? Yes
User name: Your Windows Live ID, for example yourname@hotmail.com
Password: The password you usually use to sign in to Hotmail or Windows Live
SMTP server: smtp.live.com (Port 25 or 587)   
Authentication required? Yes (this matches your POP username and password)
TLS/SSL required? Yes

 

Note: You will need the information above to set up Hotmail in email program on your PC or mobile device.

Guide: How to access Hotmail from within Gmail?

Step 1: 

Open your Gmail account > Settings > Accounts > Choose “Add a mail account you own“.

Host Intruder Copyright

 

Step 2:

Enter the settings as shown below, (of course, use your own username).

Host Intruder Copyright

Step 3:

Follow the instructions on screen to continue, a verification code will be sent to you Hotmail account.

Host Intruder Copyright

 

Step 4:

Confirm the verification and you are done. 😉

Host Intruder Copyright

 

Voila, your Gmail account is now ready to receive mail from Hotmail. You can set up your own filters and labels. It works great.  Gmail rocks, Enjoy 😀

What is POP3?

Post Office Protocol version 3 (POP3) is an Internet standard protocol used by local e-mail clients to retrieve e-mail from a remote server over a TCP/IP connectionWhat is POP3? It is a protocol that allows almost any e-mail software program that you’ve installed on your mobile phone or PC(if supported by your device and e-mail program) to get messages from your e-mail inbox on the web and deliver them in the designated program. ~ From Wikipedia

Actions

Information

14 responses

15 03 2009
sjdvda

Great article lol
I actually was going to write on this later today TVR

17 03 2009
V!N$H!

Kool…
Now i dont need to login into silly hotmail anymore (:
thanks!

23 03 2009
Yandere

Thanks a lot!

9 05 2009
Ashesh

Damn, POP3 for hotmail is available! at least some good news…. Thanks for the POP3 settings.

1 07 2009
Brian

This will only allow messages to be sent from Gmail using your Hotmail signature email address. It will not forward your mail from Hotmail to Gmail.I have tried this already by sending an email from an external account to my Hotmail account but it did not appear in my Gmail. POP3 is not enabled as Hotmail do not want people to change to Gmail. Microsoft are up to their old trick just like they did with IE! I hope they get brought to court over this one as well!

1 07 2009
Brian

Whoops, my bad! I was on the wrong setting. Its late and Im tired. If the moderator can reject my posts that would be great!

14 07 2009
devilbublinka likes stockings

What is your real name?

14 07 2009
Host Intruder

Hello,
@devilbublinka > Check out the About page.

15 07 2009
namnlos

pop and smtp was removed from Hotmail when MS bought the free mail resource, good 2 see they removed their proletarian way of getting mail, i guess they relised noone wants 2 pay for getting mail delivered 2 your phone etc.

17 07 2009
Catrin4@girlsandnylons

Are we still talking about Working for an email database company you spend quite a bit of time using Microsoft Access and over the past three years I’ve learned quite a few useful tricks ?

4 10 2009
hotmail email

This is really a good new that we can send mail from gmail. no need to open the hotmail email. but many of the user still dont know this.

25 10 2009
Clive

Hi

I can’t access my Hotmail so I tried to set up my gmail to access my hotmail
OK do you undesstand? so how can I get the confirmation code if I can’t access my hotmail account?

Please send me the code to my gmail account clivebkk@gmail.com I have spent the past 4 weeks unable to access my hotmail account and need you help with this, your mail service is great and I don’t want to use hotmail or even think abopity it again in my life.

Best

Clive

18 11 2009
Risha

Hi,
@ Clive , You won’t be able to access Hotmail via Gmail if you can’t have access to you hotmail account. That’s weird boy. And which code are you talking about? Anyway, goodluck with your problem, lol

18 09 2010
Dawid Dahl

Hello! Thanks for the tip, I have done this now and am very happy.

However! …will still need to login to the Hotmail account every now and then to keep it from expiring? Or does the connection keep it active automatically?

I’d be extremely glad if someone could answer this question. Thanks!

//Dawid

Leave a Reply

